Skip to content

Acceptance. Good News.

February 15, 2013

Acceptance. Isn’t that the Gospel? Belonging. Embrace. Isn’t that really what the Good News is? That God went to great lengths to bring us back to him? That he is in love with us? Even with all of our flaws and dysfunction. He doesn’t want perfection. He wants us, as is. The glory of it all is he accepts us. He loves us.

He wants you. He would do anything for you. He adores you. He loves you because you are you.

You.

Isn’t that the essence of love? Loving the person, everything about that person, even their flaws and neuroses, their wrinkles and scars? Isn’t love just wanting to be with that person? Just enjoying the simplicity of their presence? It doesn’t matter what you do or where you go. The only thing that matters is their presence. You don’t even have to talk. Just being together is enough.

Isn’t that what God is saying to us? To each of us? To all of us? Isn’t his story, our story, a love story? He loves us. He wants nothing more than to be with us, and he will do whatever it takes to have us. He sacrificed himself for us. He gave his life for us. He gives his life to us. He is in love, hopelessly in love.

True love doesn’t ask us to change, but it changes us nonetheless. True love accepts us for exactly who we are, and it makes us better because we know we are fully seen and fully embraced. True love brings complete security and rest. True love has no strings, no expectations, only the desire to be with.

There is no performance in true love. There is no monitoring of behavior. There are no conditions to meet in unconditional love. Acceptance is absolute. No ifs, ands, or buts. No loopholes.

This, THIS is Good News.

Here, HERE is rest.

Cease striving. Stop trying. You are loved, as you are, exactly as you are. You don’t need to be good, just be. You don’t need to behave, just be. Be still. Be in My presence. Know that I am God. Know that I am good. Good enough for the both of us. I cover you. I take up the slack. So don’t worry about being the slacker. Just be. Be with Me. I am your God, and I am in love with you.

I don’t care about your past. Your past doesn’t phase Me one bit. All I care about is that I have you now. I care about you. You. Here and now. You are wonderful to Me. You are My treasure. I light up when I see you. You’re lovely. You’re amazing. I wish you knew how amazing you are.

This is Good News. This is Gospel.

All the trying to obey, trying to be better, I don’t need it. I just want you in My arms. I just want you here with Me. I just want your attention, your affection. I just want you, as you are, in all of your glorious humanness. Come to Me, My love. Be with Me, My love. Love with Me, My true love.

You are My delight. I love you.

Romans 5:8. John 11:25. 1 John 4:9,10,16,19. Psalm 46:10. Psalm 34:8. Song of Songs 2:14 Psalm 18:19.

From → love, spirituality

2 Comments
  1. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will
    come back yet again since i have book-marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other
    people.

    • hballaman permalink

      Thank you, terrific labradoolde. I appreciate your kindness.

Leave a Reply

